Welcome to V8Buick.com.

Default 24 volt trolling motor wiring?????

Buick Brothers--I need help. I bought a boat( first mistake) new that is wired for a 24 volt trolling motor. Marinco female plugin with 2 wires, 1 red and 1 orange. 3rd wire is black( ground I assume) The Minn Kota 24 volt motor only has a red and black wire. I am told the 2 12 volt batteries have to be wired parallel but l am lost as to how to do this hook up. The instructions with the Minn Kota says to wire a connector from the positive on the #1 Battery to the ground on # 2 but that seems wrong. Any help would be appreciated. John
    John

JOHN the only way to get 24v is to connect two 12vs and yes they have to be + to - ivedone this many times because all heavy equipment is 24 v...and thats what i did for a living SO dont worry it is correct////once you connected the two batteries then connect the red from the motor to the+ term that is free and then last connect the black to the - term this completes the circuit luck pete
    pete

Yep, that's right.

Motor + to Battery #1 +

Battery#1 + to Battery #2 -

Battery #2 - to motor -

Must be a bass boat.

Bay Boat for inshore reds.
    John

Guys don't I still have an orange wire that is not connected > Is this OK
    John

I'd say it's fine since the motor only has a + and -. It doesn't need anything other than that.

I'm not sure where the orange wire would go. Ground maybe?

Quote Originally Posted by jbc455
    I'd say it's fine since the motor only has a + and -. It doesn't need anything other than that.

I'm not sure where the orange wire would go. Ground maybe?
    I would have to see it to tell for sure, but more than likley part of the speed control. So you have ground, +12 and +24 volts, that way you don't waste pwr through a reostat. So at slow speeds it uses 0 to 12 volts, high speed 12 to 24 volts.

I would call the manf. to make sure. Don't guess, high current speed contolers are expensive.

Rich