Welcome to V8Buick.com.

Default VIN on title doesn't match the car...

Hi everyone, this is my first post and I hope it is in the right place. I have been working on my new obsession for a couple months now and just noticed that the VIN listed on the title is not an actual VIN number, or at least doesn't fit the profile of a period Buick VIN, and, it isn't the same number of the actual VIN on the body of the car. The car is currently registered till October to the person I bought it from so I'm assuming he had no problem but what do I tell the DMV when I want to register it in my name? Could it be an engine number on the title or??? Any ideas are greatly appreciated.

Default Re: VIN on title doesn't match the car...

Hi Super K,
    I can only speak for New york because I had the same issue with my 70 GS.. My registration(title) was missing 1 number from the Vin on the car. When I went DMV I took a picture of the Vin ID tag on the car and showed them the mistake. The DMV made the mistake registering a car with the missing number and the previous owner never caught it (18 years of registrations). I find it the first time,thanks to the sloan museum!!So they took the copy of the picture and sent it to the Head DMV office and 8 weeks later got a new registration (title) with the correct number back. So it can be fixed..Again can only speak of NY. I would work on getting it fixed soon just in case you run into problems..

Quote Originally Posted by Cellguy View Post
    Hi Super K,