Welcome to V8Buick.com.
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 42 of 42

Thread: Gauges?

  1. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Central Ohio
    Posts
    4,222

    Default Re: Gauges?

    Quote Originally Posted by MattRush10 View Post
    John, you had time to take a picture of your gauges with your hands off the wheel all while you were going 95MPH?!?!
    That's the speed alert needle. A buzzer will sound once the vehicle exceeds the pre-set limit. The actual speedometer needle is red, not yellow as shown.
    Brad Conley. 70 GSX Prototype, 71 Black GSX, 87 GNX Prototype, 75 Skyhawk, 2 86 GN's, 72 Centurion Convert and a host of other Buicks!

  2. #27
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    32

    Default Re: Gauges?

    I was taking out my instrument panel on my '72 Skylark to replace the tach, it is an automatic. So I removed all the screws, was able to undo the indicator clamp, and undo the speedo cable. I cannot get the wiring cable out of the 2 'J' hooks. I have about 4 inches of play in the panel and I took out the radio to see the 'J' hooks. If any body has messed around with this before of have any advice that would be awesome.

  3. #28
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Oakland Gardens, N.Y.
    Posts
    27,206

    Default Re: Gauges?

    Quote Originally Posted by Sizzling72 View Post
    I was taking out my instrument panel on my '72 Skylark to replace the tach, it is an automatic. So I removed all the screws, was able to undo the indicator clamp, and undo the speedo cable. I cannot get the wiring cable out of the 2 'J' hooks. I have about 4 inches of play in the panel and I took out the radio to see the 'J' hooks. If any body has messed around with this before of have any advice that would be awesome.
    You should be able to unhook the wiring. You can bend the J hooks a bit to make it easier.
    Larry
    1998 "Fully Optioned" SC3800 Riviera
    70 GS 455 Stage1, TSP 470, 602 HP@ 5900, 589 TQ @ 4900
    TA Hyd Roller Cam, 230*/238*, 112, .544"/.577" lift, 4-7 swap
    MSD Digital 6+, Ignitionman Distributor w/MSD trigger
    THM400 with Ultimate 258mm converter, Gear Vendors OD
    AED 1000 HO Carb, 800 CFM 7042240 Quadrajet
    8.5 10 bolt, 3.73's Race weight 4025lbs.
    Best E.T. 11.54 Best MPH, 116.06
    Larrymta@verizon.net, GSCA #291
    BPG # 1063
    N.E. GS/GN Club Assistant Director

  4. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    32

    Default Re: Gauges?

    Thanks Larry, yea I was thinking I could do some thing like that.

  5. #30
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: Gauges?

    Can someone give me some direction on where to hook up the temperature gauge and dummy light combo on my 65 Skylark 300 if a tee is not appropriate? Thanks

  6. #31
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    6,948

    Default Re: Gauges?

    Quote Originally Posted by LARRY70GS View Post
    You should be able to unhook the wiring. You can bend the J hooks a bit to make it easier.
    >>Yeah, I had to bend the J hooks in my '72 when I unhooked my wire harness to install new gauges.
    Chris Gullo
    1972 Skylark Custom Convertible
    350-4bbl
    2.5" Magnaflow X-pipe N-25 exhaust
    3.23 Posi Rear
    Buick Super Sport wheels
    BPG #2034
    BCA #40234

  7. #32
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Oakland Gardens, N.Y.
    Posts
    27,206

    Default Re: Gauges?

    Quote Originally Posted by renamarie65 View Post
    Can someone give me some direction on where to hook up the temperature gauge and dummy light combo on my 65 Skylark 300 if a tee is not appropriate? Thanks
    A tee works great with the oil pressure gauge/light, but not with the coolant temperature. I am not familiar with the 300 intake manifold. On the 350 and 400/430/455, there are 2 large threaded holes on the front of the intake. One usually had a thermovacuum switch in it, so you could use one hole for the light, and the other for the gauge sender. A tee isn't really practical.
    Larry
    1998 "Fully Optioned" SC3800 Riviera
    70 GS 455 Stage1, TSP 470, 602 HP@ 5900, 589 TQ @ 4900
    TA Hyd Roller Cam, 230*/238*, 112, .544"/.577" lift, 4-7 swap
    MSD Digital 6+, Ignitionman Distributor w/MSD trigger
    THM400 with Ultimate 258mm converter, Gear Vendors OD
    AED 1000 HO Carb, 800 CFM 7042240 Quadrajet
    8.5 10 bolt, 3.73's Race weight 4025lbs.
    Best E.T. 11.54 Best MPH, 116.06
    Larrymta@verizon.net, GSCA #291
    BPG # 1063
    N.E. GS/GN Club Assistant Director

  8. #33
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: Gauges?

    That's what I thought when I was looking at it. I'll explore..thank u!!!

  9. #34
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    St Louis Missouri
    Posts
    547

    Default Re: Gauges?

    Great info.

    Thanks!
    Brian

  10. #35
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Tromsoe
    Posts
    17

    Default Re: Gauges?

    Thats a good idea. I have bought instruments, and i will install them in the floor center console.Then they are invisible on car shows...
    1972 Buick Riviera Boattail
    455 BBB
    New valve springs.
    Stage 1 cam and pistons
    Brand newQ-jet carb

  11. #36
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA.
    Posts
    535

  12. #37
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Oakland Gardens, N.Y.
    Posts
    27,206

    Default Re: Gauges?

    It may be a bear to get out either way. Use a good 6 point socket and breaker bar. Drain the radiator before.
    Larry
    1998 "Fully Optioned" SC3800 Riviera
    70 GS 455 Stage1, TSP 470, 602 HP@ 5900, 589 TQ @ 4900
    TA Hyd Roller Cam, 230*/238*, 112, .544"/.577" lift, 4-7 swap
    MSD Digital 6+, Ignitionman Distributor w/MSD trigger
    THM400 with Ultimate 258mm converter, Gear Vendors OD
    AED 1000 HO Carb, 800 CFM 7042240 Quadrajet
    8.5 10 bolt, 3.73's Race weight 4025lbs.
    Best E.T. 11.54 Best MPH, 116.06
    Larrymta@verizon.net, GSCA #291
    BPG # 1063
    N.E. GS/GN Club Assistant Director

  13. #38
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    The Hills of Tennessee
    Posts
    1,926

    Default Re: Gauges?

    When we installed our gauges we added a length of rubber hose over the entire length of the copper oil pressure gauge tube.

    This will keep it safe where it passes from the front of the engine through the firewall. Glen
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Glen, GSCA#80, BPG #1179

    My Brrrruick's
    70 Stage 1 auto, former NMCA D/Pure Stock Record Holder (David Fey, Dave Knudsen, Dave Johnson, Herb McCandless)
    70 Stage 1, 4sp, "Daddy's Toy" former IHRA Stock Record Holder (Melvin/Tommy Jackson)
    72 2dr Post Sedan, snot green, found 2004, running 2012 loaned to a friend in need. (often seen during rush hour)

    Get Right with The Man

  14. #39
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA.
    Posts
    535

    Default Re: Gauges?

    ...... I have found that in the Skylark/GS, the easiest place to go through the firewall is where the climate control vacuum. There is a large rubber grommet over a inch in diameter. It is easy to poke a hole through this grommet, and run your wires or tubes.
    Hi Larry-I'm installing my gauges, and I do not see the hole/grommet in the firewall you're referring to.

    My '71 GS 350 does not have AC, so I'm unclear if it even has climate control vacuum tubes (I don't see any).

    I'm reluctant to cut into this virgin firewall, as these aftermarket Autometer gauges are just temporary, until I get factory Buick Rally gauges.

    What at do you suggest I do? Is there another access hole on my firewall that I'm not aware of?

    Thanks
    '71 GS 350 Convertible
    Lime Mist Green
    Pearl White Interior

  15. #40
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Oakland Gardens, N.Y.
    Posts
    27,206

    Default Re: Gauges?

    Quote Originally Posted by drspencer View Post
    Hi Larry-I'm installing my gauges, and I do not see the hole/grommet in the firewall you're referring to.

    My '71 GS 350 does not have AC, so I'm unclear if it even has climate control vacuum tubes (I don't see any).

    I'm reluctant to cut into this virgin firewall, as these aftermarket Autometer gauges are just temporary, until I get factory Buick Rally gauges.

    What at do you suggest I do? Is there another access hole on my firewall that I'm not aware of?

    Thanks
    Yeah, not sure if cars without A/C would have that hole. You won't be able to install a mechanical temperature gauge without a hole that is at least 7/8" in size. Mechanical temperature gauges use a sealed sending unit/tubing/gauge, so the sending unit has to go through the firewall. You may be better off with all electrical gauges.
    Larry
    1998 "Fully Optioned" SC3800 Riviera
    70 GS 455 Stage1, TSP 470, 602 HP@ 5900, 589 TQ @ 4900
    TA Hyd Roller Cam, 230*/238*, 112, .544"/.577" lift, 4-7 swap
    MSD Digital 6+, Ignitionman Distributor w/MSD trigger
    THM400 with Ultimate 258mm converter, Gear Vendors OD
    AED 1000 HO Carb, 800 CFM 7042240 Quadrajet
    8.5 10 bolt, 3.73's Race weight 4025lbs.
    Best E.T. 11.54 Best MPH, 116.06
    Larrymta@verizon.net, GSCA #291
    BPG # 1063
    N.E. GS/GN Club Assistant Director

  16. #41
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA.
    Posts
    535

    Default Re: Gauges?

    Quote Originally Posted by LARRY70GS View Post
    .......I have found that the easiest way to run lighting for the gauges is to connect all the lighting power leads together, and run one wire that taps into the ashtray light wire. This enables you to dim the gauge lighting along with all the other dash lights. Also run all the lighting grounds together, and run the single ground to a metal portion of the dashboard...........
    Excuse my ignorance, but how do I 'tap' into the ashtray light wire?

    Do I simply cut it, and splice in the power wire for the gauges?

    Any other methods or special connectors I should use?

    Thanks
    '71 GS 350 Convertible
    Lime Mist Green
    Pearl White Interior

  17. #42
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Oakland Gardens, N.Y.
    Posts
    27,206

    Default Re: Gauges?

    Quote Originally Posted by drspencer View Post
    Excuse my ignorance, but how do I 'tap' into the ashtray light wire?

    Do I simply cut it, and splice in the power wire for the gauges?

    Any other methods or special connectors I should use?

    Thanks
    I used one of these, http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/2221025...&ul_noapp=true No need for cutting or splicing. You can get them anywhere they sell crimp on barrel type solderless connectors. Auto stores, maybe even Home depot, or Sears.

    This is another type,

    https://www.radioshack.com/products/...e-con-18-22awg
    Larry
    1998 "Fully Optioned" SC3800 Riviera
    70 GS 455 Stage1, TSP 470, 602 HP@ 5900, 589 TQ @ 4900
    TA Hyd Roller Cam, 230*/238*, 112, .544"/.577" lift, 4-7 swap
    MSD Digital 6+, Ignitionman Distributor w/MSD trigger
    THM400 with Ultimate 258mm converter, Gear Vendors OD
    AED 1000 HO Carb, 800 CFM 7042240 Quadrajet
    8.5 10 bolt, 3.73's Race weight 4025lbs.
    Best E.T. 11.54 Best MPH, 116.06
    Larrymta@verizon.net, GSCA #291
    BPG # 1063
    N.E. GS/GN Club Assistant Director

 

 
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Cool gauges that fit a Buick
    By izanurse in forum Interior City
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-11-2011, 09:55 PM
  2. Aftermarket Gauges
    By CameoInvicta in forum 'Da Nailhead
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 08-04-2007, 11:42 PM
  3. Gauges under the dash...
    By JimJames in forum Sparky's corner
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-24-2007, 02:33 PM
  4. 72 gauges in 70 buick gs 455
    By Cakes in forum Sparky's corner
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-22-2007, 01:26 AM
  5. Engine Gauges
    By CyberBuick in forum Small Block Tech
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-03-2002, 01:36 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to top