Welcome to V8Buick.com.
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    992

    Default Torque plate set up

    Do i need to use a head gasget when using the torque plate, and is the gasget reusable . Also do i torque them twice, obviously i cant run the motor then retorque? So may I please know the TA performance method .

    Regards.
    Anson Favalessa

    Sliding down the Razor Blade of Life.

    Reading that kinda gives you that fingernails on the chalkboard feeling.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Scottsdale AZ
    Posts
    494

    Default Re: Torque plate set up

    Yes, we would use a head gasket. Normally we keep a used gasket for this operation. Head gaskets can be reused but in the hone they tend to get full of oil. We do not retorque. If your going to use bolts on assembly that's what you use during honing, same goes for studs. We also on average reduce torque on the plate by 15lbs to get the block to mimic what the head does to it. This is on iron blocks, alum are different.
    Mike Tomaszewski
    TA Performance Products Inc.
    www.taperformance.com
    480-922-6807

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    992

    Default Re: Torque plate set up

    Thanks for the input. I will have to try to get one of your sales man or woman to throw in a used gasget on my next purchase.
    Regards
    Anson Favalessa

    Sliding down the Razor Blade of Life.

    Reading that kinda gives you that fingernails on the chalkboard feeling.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Attalla, AL
    Posts
    349

    Default Re: Torque plate set up

    Who sells quality torque plates for BBB?
    Jim Wyckoff
    1971 GS 462
    "Sweet Home Alabama"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    St Louis
    Posts
    11,465

    Default Re: Torque plate set up

    TA they rent or sell at least this is what I was told
    John & Terry Kemper
    GSCA #4322
    BPG #1373


    70 Sportwagon

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    992

    Default Re: Torque plate set up

    Yes sir,
    TA sells them , I bought one a few yrs ago, it comes with the extra bolt holes at bottom of cylinder, about 510 dollars. Comes in a nice little wood crate , with spacers and washers and instructions, but does NOT include a used head gasget or instruct to use one
    Anson Favalessa

    Sliding down the Razor Blade of Life.

    Reading that kinda gives you that fingernails on the chalkboard feeling.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    992

    Default Re: Torque plate set up

    Hey let's see here , I just made an order , I asked Tim to see if they can throw in a used gasget. But that is an odd request , who keeps used ones around besides my old boss ? I would have to have perfect timing. You know I was just thinking and adding everything up . I could easily have bought a Tomahawk as I have spent more than the cost of one on parts. Before I send in my block for boring what's needed for the stock 455 Tomahawk that I would not already have? Any machine work? If I can order one unwrap it , clean it and build it , I just may. The wife will get over it.
    If your out ther Mike T, wats all needed for stock one out of the crate. Can you do any machining necessary in house?
    Anson Favalessa

    Sliding down the Razor Blade of Life.

    Reading that kinda gives you that fingernails on the chalkboard feeling.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Scottsdale AZ
    Posts
    494

    Default Re: Torque plate set up

    Quote Originally Posted by HotRodRivi View Post
    Hey let's see here , I just made an order , I asked Tim to see if they can throw in a used gasket. But that is an odd request , who keeps used ones around besides my old boss ? I would have to have perfect timing. You know I was just thinking and adding everything up . I could easily have bought a Tomahawk as I have spent more than the cost of one on parts. Before I send in my block for boring what's needed for the stock 455 Tomahawk that I would not already have? Any machine work? If I can order one unwrap it , clean it and build it , I just may. The wife will get over it.
    If your out there Mike T, whats all needed for stock one out of the crate. Can you do any machining necessary in house?
    Anson,
    Not only can we machine it in house we can assemble it. I did send you one of my used gaskets by the way that we use for torque plating. The block will need the main clearance set by means of align honing. Cylinder need to be finished and normally we clean the deck but not always. Cam bearings need installation along with setting crank end play. We most diffidently can prep it for you. I have learned a lot about these new blocks through the years now and feel were better equipped than most to manage your needs. We do have blocks in stock at the moment.
    Mike Tomaszewski
    TA Performance Products Inc.
    www.taperformance.com
    480-922-6807

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    992

    Default Re: Torque plate set up

    Yes indeed I got the head gasget . Thanks for that. Does the center sump Riviera oil pan work with the pickup location at the front? I haven't seen of read that the Tomahawks have center pickup location.
    Anson Favalessa

    Sliding down the Razor Blade of Life.

    Reading that kinda gives you that fingernails on the chalkboard feeling.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Cadillac 500 Torque Plate (Deck Plate) Near Ontario?
    By online170 in forum The "Other" Bench
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-04-2011, 11:28 AM
  2. torque specs for torque converter to flex plate
    By woody3037 in forum The "Juice Box"
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-12-2010, 08:47 PM
  3. Torque Plate
    By Rossco in forum Street/strip 400/430/455
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-29-2009, 06:07 AM
  4. Torque plate/Deck plate for Nailhead
    By buickbonehead in forum 'Da Nailhead
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-25-2005, 07:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to top